Aluminum recycling for a cleaner tomorrow

How PreZero Pyral and Lidl give waste a second life

Whether it’s the lid of a yogurt pot, grill trays, coffee capsules or spray deodorant cans – these are just some of the packaging items containing aluminum that PreZero sorts every day from private household waste.

No other metal offers more uses. Its extremely energy-intensive to extract aluminum in its primary form. This makes it all the more important to recycle the valuable material efficiently. A challenging task that PreZero Pyral has taken on.

Once packaging, always packaging – the path of an aerosol can

1. Disposal
Consumers dispose of packaging in the yellow bag or yellow garbage can.

2. Collection
PreZero collects packaging through the Dual System.

3. Sorting
PreZero separates the aluminum from the other recyclables in a sorting plant for lightweight packaging.

4. Aluminum recycling through pyrolysis
The most important step in the process: After crushing, the delivered material is recycled into pure aluminum at PreZero Pyral by means of pyrolysis. Laser-based sorting then enables the material to be melted down into homogeneous recyclables.

5. Aerosol can production and filling
Partners of the Schwarz Group produce new aerosol cans from the aluminum, and these are then filled.

6. Retail sales
Lidl sells the deodorant spray in stores, returning the recycled packaging material to where it was originally disposed of – in private households.

A global first – the recycling process of PreZero Pyral

Since aluminum is usually found as part of a metal alloy, it’s difficult to efficiently separate the metals again for recycling. For a joint project within the Schwarz Group, ambitious efforts were made to produce deodorant spray cans with recycled aluminum content. This was made possible by PreZero Pyral's unique process for recovering recyclable materials.

PreZero Pyral is a pioneer in the recycling of aluminum in Germany. Every year, more than 60% of all lightweight packaging containing aluminum in Germany is recycled in this way to recover pure aluminum products. Recovering aluminum through recycling requires only about 5% of the energy needed to produce new aluminum.

Energy- and resource-efficient at up to 550 °C – it's possible!

The keyword here is pyrolysis. At very high temperatures, this process separates the organic content from the metal in the absence of air. We generate electrical energy from the resulting heat. The recycling process developed by PreZero Pyral doesn’t just save considerable energy; thanks to the special sorting process, we can also separate different aluminum alloys from each other.

Unlike conventional aluminum recycling, this guarantees a high degree of purity for the sought-after recyclable material aluminum – and it can be recycled over and over again without any loss of quality.

About PreZero

Willkommen bei PreZero Deutschland

Aluminiumrecycling für ein sauberes Morgen

Wie PreZero Pyral gemeinsam mit Lidl Abfällen ein zweites Leben schenkt.

Der Deckel eines Joghurtbechers, Grillschalen, Kaffeekapseln oder Deospraydosen – alles Verpackungen mit Aluminium-Anteil, die PreZero tagtäglich aus den Verpackungsabfällen privater Haushalte sortiert.

Kein anderes Metall bietet mehr Einsatzmöglichkeiten. Dabei ist es extrem energieaufwendig, Aluminium in seiner primären Form zu gewinnen. Umso wichtiger ist es, den Wertstoff effizient zu recyceln. Eine herausfordernde Aufgabe, der sich PreZero Pyral gestellt hat.

Einmal Verpackung, immer Verpackung – Der Weg der Aerosoldose

1. Entsorgung
Verbraucher entsorgen Verpackungen im Gelben Sack bzw. in der Gelben Tonne.

2. Sammlung
Über das Duale System sammelt PreZero Verpackungen ein.

3. Sortierung
In einer Sortieranlage für Leichtverpackungen trennt PreZero das Aluminium von den anderen Wertstoffen.

4. Aluminiumrecycling durch Pyrolyse
Der wichtigste Schritt im Prozess: Nach der Zerkleinerung wird das angelieferte Material bei PreZero Pyral mittels Pyrolyse zu reinem Aluminium recycelt. Eine laserbasierte Sortierung ermöglicht im Anschluss das Einschmelzen zu homogenen Wertstoffen.

5. Aerosoldosenproduktion und –abfüllung
Partner der Schwarz Gruppe stellen aus dem Aluminium wieder neue Aerosoldosen her, die im Anschluss gefüllt werden.

6. Verkauf im Handel
Lidl verkauft das Deospray im Handel und bringt das recycelte Verpackungsmaterial damit wieder dahin, wo es ursprünglich entsorgt wurde – in die privaten Haushalte.

Weltweit einzigartig – das Recyclingverfahren von PreZero Pyral

Da Aluminium meist Teil von Metallgemischen ist, ist es schwierig, diese wieder effizient für das Recycling voneinander zu trennen. Für ein gemeinsames Projekt innerhalb der Schwarz Gruppe, wurde ehrgeizig daran gearbeitet, Deospraydosen mit einem recyceltem Aluminiumanteil herzustellen. Möglich gemacht hat das das einzigartige Verfahren zur Wertstoffgewinnung von PreZero Pyral.

PreZero Pyral ist Vorreiter im Recycling von Aluminium in Deutschland. Jedes Jahr werden so mehr als 60 % aller aluminiumhaltigen Leichtverpackungen in Deutschland verwertet, um daraus wieder sortenreine Aluminiumprodukte zu gewinnen. Die Wiedergewinnung von Aluminium durch Recycling benötigt nur ca. 5 % der Energie, die nötig ist, um neues Aluminium herzustellen.

Energie- und ressourceneffizient bei bis zu 550 °C – das geht!

Das Stichwort lautet Pyrolyse. Bei sehr hohen Temperaturen wird bei diesem Verfahren unter Luftausschluss der organische Anteil vom Metall getrennt. Aus der entstandenen Wärme erzeugen wir elektrische Energie. Der von PreZero Pyral entwickelte Recyclingprozess ist damit nicht nur sehr energiesparend; dank des speziellen Sortierverfahrens können wir zusätzlich verschiedene Aluminiumlegierungen voneinander trennen.

Anders als im herkömmlichen Alu-Recycling wird so eine hohe Reinheit des gefragten Wertstoffs Aluminium garantiert – und kann so ohne Qualitätsverlust immer und immer wieder recycelt werden.

Weitere Informationen